New beginnings…

It wasn’t always like this.

Back then (when people still used Xanga), I kept up on a blog. Barely a day passed when I didn’t post something for my several followers to read and share. I wasn’t really somebody, but blogging was overall pretty good to me, and in return, I gave it a lot of devotion. But you know how it is. Life steps in. I moved to Kansas City, got married, had a kid. I updated every now and then, but my heart was never in it. I fell off the wagon.

It wasn’t for lack of trying though. I took a stab at a game blog late last summer, and it was pretty fun. However, I only managed to publish a couple of entries before my life interfered once again, and I was forced to abandon it. The thing is, we all have a lot of interests, and my own enthusiasm for writing on only one subject was pretty thin after just a couple of months.

But blogs continue to call to me. It’s a medium that gives me a quick-and-dirty way to download my own thoughts onto a page for people to read. It makes me a better writer. It helps me work through difficult moments. And it keeps others connected with what’s going on in my life. As spread out as my friends have become, that’s a pretty vital feature.

So here it is, another attack at the world of blogging, now on the go-to site for the aspiring pretentious jerk, WordPress.

Some stuff you can expect to find on this blog:

  • News on my life and my family, including updates and pictures of The Boy and The Wife.
  • Commentary on what’s happening in the world of board games. Not enough to fill it’s own blog, but enough to be noticeable.
  • Re-watch reviews of some of my favorite TV shows. I’m already planning to do a rewatch of Lost, and to post reviews for each episode on this blog.
  • Whatever else blows through my head, with the understanding that there are no rules for what will and won’t be written about.

When all is said and done, I think I really need something like this. The idea is to give at least 2-3 updates a week, because I like to write, and I feel like I’m pretty good at it. Of course, tools like that don’t improve with lack of use, so I want to make this attempt stick.

So there we go. This is my “new beginning,” the rebirth of my time as a blogger. I’m tired of sitting on the sidelines. I’m tired of not participating. Expect to hear from me soon.

2 thoughts on “New beginnings…

  1. It is good to read your ruminations again!

  2. I do miss the days of blogging. It’s far too easy to fall off the wagon.

Leave a Reply

