Crazy Bachelor Weekend

Just so you know, I often think about and write about things that don’t involve Lost. That writing project is going along quite well, and thanks to those who have shared comments. However, I thought it would be good to get down and entry and just give everyone a general update.

Hope is in Louisiana this weekend, on a Cross-Cultural Orientation, something her office puts together several times a year. That means I get to take care of Forest for the whole weekend. He’s a well-behaved kid, so that hasn’t been too bad so far. I’m not completely sure what we’ll do the rest of the day today. I had thought about taking him to a petting zoo, but the weather has turned wintery again after the tease of last weekend. We might still go on a walk, but I doubt either one of us will get much enjoyment out of the weather, so I’m open to suggestions. How do you entertain yourself and a 13-month-old, people from Kansas City?

Hope’s Aunt Nona died very suddenly this week. Unfortunately, given the timing of the weekend, we won’t make it out to the memorial service in Okalahoma City. I would have liked to go though. Nona was quite close with Hope’s family, and she welcomed me very warmly into the family. She will be missed, but as Hope keeps saying, she’s much happier now.

Not a lot else to report, I’m afraid. I stayed up and watched a lot of TV last night. Not exactly living la vida loca, but parents of babies take what they can get. I watched A Fish Called Wanda for the first time. It had been on my list for a long time, mostly because of my love of John Cleese, Michael Palin, and Kevin Kline. It wasn’t what I’d call family viewing, but there were at least a couple of parts that were, no joke, so funny that I hurt from laughing. It’s good to find something funny enough to make you laugh even when you’re by yourself. I also saw Hanna this past weekend. It was good, but pretty grim.

Hope and I got our federal tax return this week, so we bought the new reprint of “Survive: Escape from Atlantis”. Friends, this game is the type that deserves to be in every family game collection. It looks great, has simple thematic rules, and it’s hilariously mean. If your family gets a charge out of playing lots of “draw fours” on each other in Uno, this game is for you. I might even review it at some point. No guarantees though.

That’s all from me for right now. What are you up to this weekend?

Leave a Reply

