Take a Walk

When you are a new parent, a lot of people tell you “Wait til’ X happens!” In this case, X stands in for any major milestone that the child achieves. Rolling over, crawling, standing up, and in our case, walking. Because Forest is walking like a pro these days, and he is officially a lot of work to take care of.

Don’t hear me wrong, he’s a good boy. He will usually stop messing with something if we tell him “no,” and he’s very loving and playful. But I think I am not the only new parent who is a little tired of finding pieces of everything all over the house. For Forest’s birthday, my parents bought him a tub of Duplo blocks. Now, I can be a little anal about keeping all of the pieces to something in one place. It’s how I’m able to keep my games in tradable condition. Besides, Lego encourages this little OCD habit by printing a full inventory of all pieces on the back of the tub. Needless to say, I felt compelled to pick up all of the legos and put them in the tub, making sure we got them all. (Somewhere in the distance, you may hear a more experienced father laughing.) Needless to say, that didn’t last long. Now, I’m continually surprised where I find Duplo blocks. Most of them are still in the tub, but they’ve also turned up in the bathroom, our bedroom, under our bed, and even in a basket of clean laundry. I haven’t found one in the garbage yet, but I confess, I haven’t looked very hard.

So walking has clearly changed our lives. It’s not all a headache though. There’s that special delight that parents get when they hold hands with their toddler to lead them somewhere. And just this weekend, Forest learned to stand up unsupported. He does this by the popular Toddler Method, in which he sticks his rump in the air, then the rest of his body. It is, in a word, hilarious.

Leave a Reply

