Friday Fallout: April 27, 2012

Some thoughts on various things this Friday:

  • Didn’t expect to make it out to our game store last night, so I walked in without much plan. That’s usually a recipe for disaster, but last night it meant that I got to play Mare Nostrum. It had been about 8 months or so since I played this one, so it was nice to get it out again. We played without the mythology expansion, which is not my preferred way to play. But this was a good game. The guy teaching the game (thankfully not me) did a good job at offering advice to the new players. He also did a good job of giving them strategic tips and making them pay attention to the state of the board. I lost as Babylon, though I did a pretty good job of keeping my defenses tough. Love that game, but it’s fragility means it can sometimes fall flat. That was not the case last night, thankfully.
  • Managed to get in two games of Wiz-War, each with four players. My experience with this one comes entirely from the new FFG reprint, and I’ve only played with two players before last night. The result has been a mild enjoyment, rather than full-on enthusiasm. It was definitely better with four people, but I still think the game feels  a little too reserved for what it is. I might go old-school and do away with the maintained-spells-count-against-the-hand-limit rule. Just let the fur fly, as it were. Also, it’s a game designed for trash-talking. If you can’t do that with some conviction, well…probably oughta keep walking.
  • Listening to Jack White’s new solo album, Blunderbuss. As with most things he does, it’s pretty terrific.
  • Fringe just got renewed for a fifth and final season. I hope there’s some parallel universe where this was never in doubt, and NCIS is on the bubble every year.
Leave a Reply

