Friday Fallout: June 1, 2012

brain

Thanks, brain.

And so ends the biggest month my blog has ever had. I had over 5,000 visitors in the month of May, which is about half of the overall traffic my site has had. So thanks to all of my readers, old and new. And keep on spreading the word about The Rumpus Room. I don’t write about games just for my own enjoyment, you know.

Oh wait…yeah, I mostly do. But now it’s for your enjoyment too. So keep the comments coming. Thanks for your support!

  • Didn’t play a bunch over Memorial Day weekend, for various reasons. However, at one of the three cookouts (!) we went to we did get in a game of Carabande. That’s Pitchcar to you plebs, and we had fun. It was the first time most people there had played it, and we had a ball. I also learned that I really suck at that game.
  • Also played that afternoon was a fun game of Say Anything. I am not normally a big party game guy, but Say Anything strikes some kind of wonderful balance between being short and being hilarious. It’s hard to say no to a game, and I think it’s one of the best party games to be released since Apples to Apples. For that matter, I think it’s better than that one too.
  • After we got home and put our son to bed, I played a three-player game of Ticket to Ride: Europe, which inspired my review this week. It’s probably the best game in a style I almost never play anymore.
  • Antiquity hit the table last night. This was my second game of this monster, and you can see us at about the two-thirds mark here. After one game I wasn’t sure I liked it. Now I’m pretty sure I do, but with some reservations. First of all, it’s brutally unforgiving. If you make one little boo-boo early on you will die a slow horrible death and not know why. Secondly, nothing pushes you towards actually concluding the game. Once you know what you’re doing it’s not an issue, but it’s not hard for new players to just spin their wheels until there’s nowhere else to spin. Having said that, it’s an utterly unique game with alarming depth. It offers a feeling of accomplishment for small things, like starting a new city. Every goal seems totally insurmountable, but suddenly becomes possible as the game goes on. A lot of fun, and I think I’m ready to give it a qualified recommendation for those who can track down this one.
  • Played a couple solo games of Wrath of Ashardalon. This is only notable because I actually won one of them, which is my first win in that game. I played a couple rules wrong, but I’m counting it.
  • Martin Wallace is releasing a Doctor Who card game. Given his good work on the Discworld board game, I think I’m excited about this. Definitely watching the skies on this one.
  • Not sure why, but this morning feels like a morning to listen to Bjork. Maybe that’s indicative of the kind of week I’ve had.
  • After all these years, I finally know the words to this song.
One thought on “Friday Fallout: June 1, 2012

  1. Matt Drake did good pointing me here, great blog!

Leave a Reply

