Friday Fallout – June 15, 2012

baby

They only look cute until you cross them.

Another week in the books. Mine’s been unusually busy.

  • For the first time in months, I played Battlestar Galactica last night. It’s still one of my favorite games, but it had been a little while since I’d had a really awesome game of it. Now I see that at least part of the reason for that is because I usually play with a lot of expansion stuff. The expansions are very good, but they do tend to pile on the chrome until the latent suspicion and betrayal has a hard time speaking up amongst everything else. So last night was base game only, and I was not disappointed. The Cylons had a tough go of it, since the second half of the game had zero Cylon ships on the board the whole time. But it was still fun to throw accusations around and generally behave in an anti-social manner. Still one of the best games I’ve ever played, and one that I think everyone should own.
  • For Father’s Day, my wife let me buy a game. I got Junta: Viva El Presidente. For those not in the know, this is a game where you play some wealthy muckity-muck in a banana republic. You try to angle for the position of El Presidente, you make shaky alliances, and generally behave like a jerk. I like games like this a lot, and hey, it comes with a cool pair of shades for the President. So that’s win-win, right? More later after I’ve had a chance to play.
  • Also played last night was the newest from Dominion designer Donald X. Vaccarino, Infiltration. It’s a sort of push-your-luck game where you try to crack as far as you can into a facility to steal data and other stuff. The person who makes it out with the most stuff is the winner. It has the feel of Dungeonquest mixed with a little Incan Gold. I hate Incan Gold, but I love Dungeonquest and this falls far more on that side of things. FFG has given it a really nice sheen of futuristic cyberpunk via their Android universe, and it’s a lot of fun. Definitely one of keep playing.
  • I just received the first disc of the first season of The Wire. I know, it’s taken me a while to get to this point.
  • Been listening to a lot of Sigur Ros this week. It’s hard to judge the relative quality from one track to another, but it’s ideal working music because it just has that lovely lilt that doesn’t distract and yet doesn’t bore. Great stuff.
  • I think my son tried this when he was really little.
Leave a Reply

