Friday Fallout – July 6, 2012

fry

I don’t make these memes, but I wish I’d made this one.

Happy Independence to my US readers, and happy regular work week to the rest of the world. Since there was a holiday this week in the US, I got in a couple of mid-week games, after an extended dry spell. Also, I am going to another game-night tonight, so I’m sure I’ll have more to say after I’ve written this.

  • My big game-related news this week is the reprint of King of Tokyo. For those who don’t know, this is a dice game by Magic: The Gathering creator Richard Garfield, where players try to make their monster either destroy Tokyo or destroy the other monsters. I originally played at Geekway to the West, and we liked it so much that we just up and played three times in a row. Now that it’s back in stores, I HAD to pick up a copy. I think it might be my favorite game from 2011. Expect a review in the next week or so.
  • Has anyone else here played Cockroach Poker? This is a bluffing game that never actually saw a release in the US. Essentially, you pass a card face-down to your opponents, saying what it is. If they call you as telling the truth or lying, and they’re right, you have to put the card face-up in front of you. If they were wrong, they need to take the card for their own stacks. The funniest thing about this game is that there is only one loser. I find that to be hilariously mean-spirited, and I wish more games singled out failure in such a funny way. Besides that, it’s just a funny bluffing game. It’s filled with stare-offs and tense moments, and some very big laughs. I recommend it highly, and if you can’t find an import copy you can make your own deck out of two playing card decks ranked from A-8.
  • I am determined to play Kings & Things* tonight at game night. Stay tuned.
  • We saw Brave last week, and I enjoyed it. Most Pixar movies do a good job of providing surprising story beats, and I felt that Brave fell short in that regard. With the exception of the central twist of the movie, the rest played out a little predictably. But the rest of the movie was very good. The characters were very likable, and it’s a breathtakingly beautiful movie. I definitely recommend it to mothers and daughters, because I liked it’s portrayal of that relationship a lot.
  • I watched Thor last night too. It was a lot of fun, but goodness was it goofy. It never quite crossed that line into “unintentionally hilarious” but it sure butted up against that threshold. I did like the cast a lot, and there’s a certain satisfaction to seeing a couple of plot points from The Avengers filled out. But most of the stuff in Asgard was overwrought in the extreme, and it loved the angled shot almost as much as Battlefield Earth. I would recommend it, but it’s near the bottom of the Marvel Avengers arc, just above The Incredible Hulk.
  • I wish I had an iPad, because I really want to play the new Summoner Wars app. It’s a great game, and it deserves a great release. Sounds like it got it.
  • Harkening back to my youth group days, I’ve been listening to a lot of Third Day lately. It wouldn’t be much interest to my non-Christian readers, but it’s been a bit of a reconnection for me.
  • Reading comprehension is important.
Leave a Reply

