Friday Fallout – July 13, 2012

scumbag beer

Studies show that drinking before saying something stupid may result in saying something stupid.

Don’t step on any cracks or anything. It’s Friday the 13th, and that can only be a bad thing. To whit, you’re stuck reading the newest installment of Friday Fallout. Following a moderately fallow period of gaming, I’ve actually been able to get a lot of stuff played recently. And some other things have happened too.

  • Still playing King of Tokyo, because the only people who don’t like that game are liars and pretentious jerks.
  • Finally got around to trying Kings & Things*, which I would consider to be a positive experience. It’s really old school, in the sense that it has no regard for your cries of “unfair!” and “stupid dice!” As long as you’re good with that though, it’s actually a pretty modern design. The threaded turns allow you to do a lot of different stuff, like exploring, warfare, and recruiting units. And the victory conditions and tight board will necessitate a good bit of warfare, which I like a lot. It has the feel of a big epic game like Runewars or Warrior Knights. The only difference is that instead of a different mechanic to resolve everything, you just roll a die and see if you succeeded. I’m not sure that’s altogether better or worse, but it’s way easier and that counts for something.
  • Finally played Imperial for the first time in ages. What a fascinating game. I’m not sure precisely how to play it well yet, but every game reinforces something I already knew: Imperial is one of the best heavy Euro games out there. I’ll probably write it up before too long, but my enjoyment of this game is strong enough that I would consider trading for the other version, Imperial 2030. We’ll see if that passes like the temporary madness it surely must be.
  • In preparation for the new season this fall, my wife and I have been going through the reboot of Doctor Who, which is one of my favorite shows if only for it’s flexibility. It can get away with being a different genre in any given week, and that’s a huge asset. Even when it fails spectacularly (as it sometimes does), it’s still swinging for the fence. I’ve also checked out a couple of the older serials, having just finished The Ark In Space with the fourth Doctor. I enjoyed it a lot. It’s a little like watching a well-acted Godzilla movie, and in that you need to embrace the terrible effects or be forever distracted.
  • Started listening to The Housemartins this week. Spotify only has their first album, but it’s fun in that 80’s British way. And hey, their lead singer was a Christian Marxist, which is something you don’t see everyday. Makes for some fascinating lyrical subtexts.
  • Breaking Bad finally returns this week, which means it’s time to watch the previous season on Netflix.
  • I feel pretty good that I didn’t kill anyone yesterday after sitting in traffic for an hour, then discovering that our car needs $1000 of work on it. Wheee.
  • If you’re a college football fan, you’re undoubtedly aware of the horrible situation at Penn State. As an Ohio State fan, it’s a little like watching a parallel universe collapse into nothingness. While PSU has always been an “enemy” I considered them to be one of the “good guys.” For me, having that illusion shattered is surprisingly discouraging. My heart is with the alumni and fans of PSU, and most of all with the victims of the whole situation. I hope this will shed more light on the horrible thing that is child sexual abuse.
  • Ugh, that was heavy. Sorry. It’s been on my mind a lot this week.
  • Ever wonder how Christopher Nolan is organizing the stunts for The Dark Knight Rises?
One thought on “Friday Fallout – July 13, 2012

  1. The Housemartins? Man, that brings me back. I think I had London 0 Hull 4 on cassette. Neat, catchy little album. I think their bassist was one Norman Cook, who we knew later as Fatboy Slim.

Leave a Reply

