Friday Fallout – January 4, 2012

The most interesting man in the world uses Google.

Hey, that’s a good idea.

Well, another new year is upon us. Also, should I capitalize New Year every time I write it? I still don’t know! No worries though. Four days in, and 2013 is looking pretty good. I happened to turn 30 on New Year’s Day, which was a time to try to reflect on my life and then forget about it and just play some games.

  • My wife bought me a Kindle Fire for my birthday, which is pretty awesome. It’s like an iPad for people who don’t care about productivity. Also poor people.
  • Z-Man Games sent me a big ol’ package this week, containing their new civilization game, Clash of Cultures. It’s by one of the designers of Merchants & Marauders. I am, to put it mildly, optimistic.
  • I have yet to finish a full game of my copy of Merchant of Venus. I would still rate it as one of the best releases of 2012.
  • I nabbed a copy of Persepolis (the comic) from my library. It’s been on my to-read list for a while now, and I was not in the least bit disappointed. Satrapi has a rare gift for creating striking visuals that shock and disturb while still using as few strokes of the pen as possible. Really first-rate stuff, and I am anxiously awaiting part 2 from my library, as well as the movie.
  • Scientists have discovered a record of the very first GIF file. Behold!
One thought on “Friday Fallout – January 4, 2012

  1. If you liked Persepolis, make sure to read Maus and Epileptic, both of which are huge, huge influences on her. Epileptic isn’t discussed nearly enough, but is the best Euro-comic I’ve ever read.

Leave a Reply

