Dear Winter…

Hey Winter! What’s up? You know, I was just thinking how we barely got to see each other all last year. You kept saying you would come around, and kept waiting for you. I guess you got busy. Believe me, when you don’t show up the rest of the year can be a drag. I mean, we had a drought and everything.

So it was really cool of you to make it up to us this year, even if it was a little later than usual. I so appreciate the quality time we got to spend together. I even missed four days of work and got to spend it with my family. I mean, I didn’t get much else done those days, but it was fun to play in the snow with my son. And since it’s warmed up, we’ve even gotten all of that rain we didn’t get last year. I’ve had a great time. I know a lot of people talk smack about you, but you and I are still cool.

But here’s the thing…I think maybe it’s time that we took some time apart. Look, we had some good times this year. We’ll always have those good times. But…it’s May…and here you are again, blasting snow all over Kansas City. I mean, I know I really liked the first couple feet of snow, but what am I supposed to do with all of this stuff? You do know that everyone in Kansas City hears the word “snow” and runs off the road preemptively, right?

But it’s not just the snow. It’s…oh man, this is hard to do…

I’ve been seeing Spring, and I think it’s really going well. This week I actually spent some time outside without layering up. Don’t take it personally, I like dressing in hoodies and heavy coats…it’s just that I did so much of it. Our relationship was so passionate and so intense, and we’ll always have a foot of snow being shoveled in my driveway.

But Spring…did you know that it was 80 degrees yesterday? I wore shorts this week! I mowed the lawn! And then you came barging in here, and barfed more snow all over the place. Who’s going to clean up this mess?

So that’s why we need some space. I hope you understand. I hope we can still be friends, I always think about you during the holidays.

Sincerely,
Nate

Leave a Reply

