Defensive Posture

I’ve blogged on and off for about 10 years, first on a Xanga site in college, and now on WordPress. For many years I have considered writing a lengthy piece on why I enjoy the Star Wars prequels, since I seem to be the only one who hasn’t written them off entirely. I was actually mentally rehearsing everything I would write for this very evening, and then I felt myself deciding not to bother. Not that it won’t ever be written, (no topic is off the table, really) but I didn’t feel up to it tonight.

There are a couple reasons for this. First of all, it’s patently ridiculous to feel the need to defend the honor of multi-million dollar box-office hits. It’s not exactly the little indie movie that could. Secondly, on that particular topic no one is looking to be convinced. It’d just be a way to make myself heard on a topic where no one agrees with me. Mostly though, I had a brief moment where I didn’t really feel like defending something that I do for fun.

That’s not to say that I don’t like debating the relative merit of pop culture. It’s one of my favorite pastimes, assuming everyone comes ready to act like an adult. Heck, most of the things I write about are making some kind of commentary about what I do and don’t like. I like hearing from people who disagree with me, and I like to hear why.

But there are times when it just feels best to step aside and let people assume you’re an idiot for liking or not liking something. No one should need to answer to the tastes of anyone else, even if they can’t really articulate why they feel the way they do. If that’s the case, don’t expect to convince anyone else of your point of view. But that’s fine too.

I’m really saying this for myself more than anyone else. Whenever anyone starts trashing something I love, my immediate response is to rally the troops and try to draft a response so withering and well-reasoned that everyone will be forced to realize that I know what I’m talking about. Usually I’m able to gag down that impulse, but sometimes not. And you know what? No one ever cares. We both still feel the way we did before, and no innocent bystanders have been converted in either direction.

So yeah, sometimes I just don’t want to goof around with having to defend something that doesn’t need my defense. The truth is that the number of things in our life worth making a stand on is an extremely small number. Better save my energy for the stuff that really matters.

Like why the ending of Lost was pretty darn good.

4 thoughts on “Defensive Posture

  1. Yeah. I liked the ending to Lost and found the first 3 Star Wars to be tolerable. They weren’t amazing, but liked seeing the stories.

  2. If one more person wears a Jar Jar Binks costume to Comic-Con, it will have been time well spent.

  3. I know your pain. I’m a huge prequel lover but have given up arguing in its favor as well. Also, I ALWAYS dress as Jar Jar for premieres.

Leave a Reply

