The Write Stuff

I commented last week on my lowered activity here on the blog, due to writing for some other projects. It’s interesting, I didn’t realize that blogging was beginning to serve as some kind of bizarre therapy. The last two weekends were both just a little too busy to get something posted, and each of the last two Mondays I spent the whole day at work feeling edgy and unproductive, and not because I didn’t accomplish anything at work. Both times, I blasted out my F:AT article in the evening and immediately felt better, like I suddenly wasn’t wasting my day.

That must mean that I’m finally addicted to this writing thing? I don’t know. At least it’s one where the withdrawal symptoms that merely makes me irritable and doesn’t, you know, kill me. Writing stuff for the Good Men Project definitely does narrow down what I’m willing to write here, if just because I don’t really want to burn a good idea on a blog post. I’m sure you’ll keep getting reviews now and then (sorry, there won’t  be a movie review this week), but if it’s an idea that will be worth 1000 words and can somehow tie into what I do for GMP, it’ll end up over there. Unfortunately that means that the ol’ blog might get more navel-gazing stuff like this.

The truth is that as much as I love this, some days I think I underestimated the effect of writing weekly for two different websites and maintaining a blog at the same time. There are a lot of things I want to put to the page, but not a ton of time in which to do it, or at least enough time to justify doing it for free. The process of ramping up my writing has been one of adjusting to different schedules to accommodate increased output. I adjusted to it back in May when I moved to multiple blog posts in a week, and I’ll adjust to it now. It’ll totally be worth it on the other side, I have no doubt.

Leave a Reply

